Por Caravaggio…

No sé… esta mañana ví a mi jefa, aquélla que coordina a los profesores. Le comenté que para una clase había usado imágenes de un libro de Caravaggio, ante lo que ella me respondió que quería ver el libro para cersiorarse del contenido. Le dije que si, pero que si quería podía también ver las imágenes de internet para que estuviera tranquila.

Me dijo que sí, pero hizo énfasis en que quería ver el libro.

Le dije que sí, pero enfaticé lo pesado del libro y lo irracional de llevarlo para ver las mismas imágenes que podía ver en internet…

De hecho, le pedí que viéramos juntas las imágenes en internet, y me dijo con tono serio que: “sí, está bien como tema para la gente a la que le gusta la pintura”

Como sea, este fin de semana se lo llevaré y; me doy cuenta claro de que, llevar ese libro es más bien una muestra de autoridad; de que ella la tiene y de que yo no quiero dársela.

Porque finalmente, parece que no me gusta tener jefes… (o ciertos tipos de jefes).

Como sea… ese episodio me estresó mucho, me enojó mucho el que no se confiara en mi capacidad para cosas tan mínimas como escoger materiales para una clase. Aún ahora estoy bastante, bastante molesta… pero debo recordar que:

a) Es una institución de japoneses y ellos suelen ser así de estrictos con las cosas, por lo tanto:

b) No es un asunto personal, o que específiamente no se confíe en mí, sino que así se aplica la autoridad y la normatividad

Pero al mismo tiempo me parece que es una actiud bastante… compulsivamente enferma, (algo que considero inherente a muchos aspectos de esa cultura), de parte de la institución por la cortar tanto la libertad de cátedra.. y mía por 1) hacer un informe detallado  de los materiales que uso en clase 2) Por seguir buscando a esa cultura a pesar de los roces que he tenido con ella y 3) por dejar que una cosa tan chiquita me arruine el día.

5 thoughts on “Por Caravaggio…

    • Hi, I´m just commenting the fact that I used an image of one of his paintings for my class today which, my boss didn´t like, and she asked me to show her the Caravaggio´s cataloge so she can be check the content and be sure t isn´t offensive for her client (my student); when she saw the image I used (David and Goliath´s one) she said “It´s OK only if your student is interested in Art” but by the way she said that she made me feel that she didn´t like the painting and that she was kindda upset at me…

      I work for a japanese school, and my bosses are, basically japanese people, so I wonder, 1)why they have to be that strict and 2) Why I keep following a culture I´ve had troubles with in the past…

  1. Very interesting & thanks for translating! People in charge tend to have more responsibilities, so they tend to want to micromanage other people? Being Japanese myself, I, too, have great difficulty sometimes with people being irrationally “strict” or unreasonable about stuff. But over the years I’ve learned to just not take them too seriously or kind of go with the flow, have the zen attitude about things, you know. As for your following the culture that has given you much pain, I think it’s only natural. It’s that love/hate relationship. Like, I love so many things about Italy, but I would not wish to work too closely with the Italians, hehe! (And I speak from my own experience!)

  2. Thanks a lot for your comment! Yeah, I think you´re definetly right about the Love-hate relationship with japanese culture, which i´m in love with, despite evreything… And I really do think I gotta care less about it, and just understand that that´s the way they are.

    BTW – Can I ask why did you say you wouldn´t like to work with italian people??

  3. yeah, i work with this dear italian guy who sometimes says the most unthinkable, impossible things. for example when we ask him to do a certain thing “by this weekend,” meaning by friday (as it’s work assignment), he doesn’t do it until sunday night and says, “my week is monday to sunday, so as far as i’m concerned, i did my job in time.” whereas if it were japanese, many of us would just apologize and try to remember “it’s friday when they say weekend.” i’m sure it’s not necessarily an italian thing but a cultural difference in general. trying to work through those differences especially in work situations is pretty challenging and hilarious as i’m sure you’d understand! have a great weekend.🙂

Leave a Reply

